About Swan Hills

The electorate of Swan Hills covers a 1400 square kilometre portion of the north-eastern corner of the metropolitan area. Much of the electorate is thinly settled, with most of the electorate's population concentrated in four main areas:

  • The densely populated part of the electorate to the west includes the portion of Ellenbrook north of The Promenade, Aveley and Belhus north of Millhouse Road, The Vines north of Ellen Brook Drive and Melaleuca.
  • To the north, the electorate includes the developing township of Bullsbrook and the Avon Valley National Park.
  • To the south, the electorate captures the Swan Valley localities of Upper Swan, BaskervilleBrigadoonMillendon, Herne Hill and Red Hill.
  • Swan Hills also includes a vast but sparsely populated area of the Perth Hills to the east, including the localities of Gidgegannup, Mount Helena, Chidlow, Wooroloo, BeechinaBailupThe Lakes, Gorrie, Sawyers Valley and Malmalling.

The electorate includes portions of two Local Government Areas; the City of Swan and the Shire of Mundaring.

The local Federal Member of Parliament is Tania Lawrence - Member for Hasluck

You can find out more about Swan Hills at the Parliamentary Library's Electorate Profile.